Texas Driving While Intoxicated

Drunk driving convictions in the state of Texas are called driving while intoxicated or DWI.

If you are caught driving in Texas With a (BAC) blood alcohol level of .08 or greater you are legally intoxicated and will be arrested and charged with a DWI.

If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas you will face stiff fines, driver license suspension, surcharges and be required to file an sr22.

First conviction – $1,000 annual surcharge
Second or subsequent conviction – $1,500 annual surcharge
DWI with (BAC) Blood Alcohol Content .16 or greater – $2,000 annual surcharge

In addition to the above fines, you will have to file an sr22 on your car insurance and
because of a DWI conviction your car insurance premiums will go up.

Just because you have a DWI and need sr22 insurance to drive, doesn’t mean you have to pay for high car insurance. Let us help and find you a cheap car insurance rate.

Find affordable coverage for Texas drivers who have been convicted of driving while intoxicated here.

How Much For SR22 Insurance?

Purchasing car insurance commonly referred to as sr22 insurance, and the price you pay is based on your driving record and the reason for needing it.

Drivers who need sr22 insurance for driving under the influence are going to pay a far greater premium than drivers caught without car insurance.

There are other reasons for needing the filing, such as too many tickets, accidents, drug and alcohol convictions.

It is very important to shop your car insurance to find the best rates.

How much you pay for sr22 insurance can vary greatly between car insurance companies.

SR22 insurance is considered a high risk car insurance policy and many companies do not offer the sr22 form filing.

We have agents who specialize in helping drivers find affordable sr22 insurance rates.

Our agents specialize in high risk driving records nationwide, whether an sr22 certificate needs to be filed or not.

Ready to find cheap sr22 insurance, get a quote today!

Visit our sr22 insurance quote page.

Or for more sr22 insurance information.

How long do I need to keep an SR-22 on my car insurance?

* It depends on why you are required to file it and is usually between 1 to 3 years.
* If you do not own a vehicle and need to get your license reinstated, you will be required to purchase a non owners insurance policy with an sr-22 filed on it.