How do I find out if my driver license is suspended?

You can contact your state department of motor vehicles. Click here for DMV links.

This is probably the best way.

By contacting the DMV, if your license is suspended you can find out what you need to do to get your license reinstated.

You may need to file an sr22 certificate, pay a reinstatement fee and pay any fines.

A motor vehicle report will tell if a driver license is suspended.

In some states insurance agents and companies can pull an motor vehicle report, but they probably won’t be able to tell you exactly what needs to be done to get you driver license reinstated.

If your agent has the capability to pull a motor vehicle report, more than likely they will have to charge you for it.

You would still need to contact the DMV and take care of any fees or fines due and to see if an sr22 filing is needed.

Click here for more sr22 information.

Source
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info

What is FR44 insurance?

FR44 insurance is similar to sr22 insurance but typically it is required for more serious violations.

An FR44 form is not insurance, it is a form endorsed to your auto insurance policy, and filed with the state department of motor vehicles.

An fr44 filing is typically for the worst driving offenses such as maiming or killing someone.

Where an sr22 is usually needed for driving without car insurance or a driving under the influence.

If you have an FR44 filing and the policy cancels the state DMV is sent another form called an FR46 that notifies the DMV the policy canceled.

An sr22 form is to provide proof of state minimum liability car insurance, an FR44 form typically requires the insured to purchase  twice the state minimum coverage limits.

For example, if your state requires minimum liability coverage limits of 25000/50000/25000  an FR44 filing would require a policy with limits of 50000/100000/50000 of coverage limits.

For state specific information, speak to a state licensed agent or contact your state department of motor vehicles or department of insurance. Click here for DMV links.

Author
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info

Liability auto insurance coverage explained.

Most states require all drivers to carry liability auto insurance.

Liability auto insurance covers the driver should they cause an at fault accident.

The driver would have coverage up to the limits of the policy.

Policy limits vary from minimum coverage up to high limits.

In this example, the policy limits would read 25000/50000/25000.

It would provide the driver with auto insurance coverage up to

$25,000 per person bodily injury per accident

$50,000 per accident bodily injury total

$25,000 towards the property damage

The driver is responsible for damages above the coverage limits.

It is important to understand your coverage limits.

State minimum auto insurance is the cheapest auto insurance, basically purchased to keep legal and may not be enough coverage.

Drivers caught driving without auto insurance can have their driver license suspended and be required to file an sr22.

An sr22 filing can raise your auto insurance because you will be considered a high risk driver

Author
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info

Texas High Risk Auto Insurance

Texas drivers convicted of driving without auto insurance or driving while intoxicated can have their driver license suspended.

If your Texas driver license is suspended, you will be required to file an sr-22 and will be considered a high risk driver.

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving without auto insurance in Texas carries severe fines and penalties.

Much stiffer fines and penalties apply to driving while intoxicated,

but drivers caught driving without auto insurance can have their driver license suspended and will only qualify for high risk auto insurance.

The state minimum liability auto insurance limits required for all drivers in the state of Texas is 30000/60000/25000.

Texas drivers required to file an sr-22 with the Texas department of public safety (DPS) are required to carry at least a minimum liability auto insurance policy.

Thesr-22 filing will be needed for two years and you will require high risk auto insurance.

Texas DPS has a system to verify if drivers are carrying auto insurance called TexasSure.

TexasSure is a vehicle insurance verification database that matches the records of registered vehicles in Texas to personal auto insurance policy information submitted by Texas insurance companies.

TexasSure information can be accessed by law enforcement and county tax officials.

They can verify if auto insurance coverage exists instantly.

State minimum auto insurance is affordable coverage, driving uninsured in Texas will eventually result in being caught.

Driving without auto insurance in Texas is definitely not worth the risk.

Author
Licensed agent

What is state minimum auto insurance?

Every state requires drivers to carry auto insurance on their vehicles.

State minimum coverage is exactly that, it is the minimum amount of liability auto insurance required by state law.

Each state has it’s own state minimum auto insurance coverage limits.

State minimum auto insurance is going to be the cheapest liability policy.

It may not provide adequate coverage, but it will keep you legal.

Being insured under a state minimum policy is much better than driving without insurance.

The fines and penalties for driving without auto insurance are steep and differ between states.

In most states your driver license can be suspended for driving without auto insurance and require an sr22 filing.

If you are looking to get auto insurance as cheap as possible to stay legal, state minimum auto insurance coverage is what you want.

Some auto insurance companies specialize in and only sell state minimum coverage.

Source
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info

What is non-owners auto insurance?

Non-owners auto insurance is for drivers who do not have a vehicle but need to file an sr22.

If your driver license is suspended for no insurance tickets, driving under the influence or for any other reason and you do not own a vehicle you will need a non-owners policy.

A non-owners policy is a state minimum liability auto insurance policy.

It would cover you in any vehicle you drive, but is purchased to satisfy the sr22 filing requirement for drivers with a suspended license.

Source
Licensed agent
www.sr-22.info

What happens if my driver license is suspended and I move to another state?

If your driver license is suspended and you move to another state, you will need to get your driver license reinstated in the state it is suspended in, before you can get licensed in the new state.

It would be advisable and probably much easier to get you license reinstated before moving. At least find out what all you need to do, any fines and if an sr22 filing is required and for how long.

You can still go to the department of motor vehicles if needed, once you have moved, your only option would be doing everything by mail and phone.

If your driver license is eligible to be reinstated, more than likely you will need to file an sr22 on your auto insurance.

Once you get you license reinstated, you can apply for a driver license in the new state.

To avoid having to get two auto insurance policies, it is easiest to find an auto insurance company who writes business in both states.

You will need auto insurance in the state you are driving, and you need the sr22 filing in the state where your license is suspended.

The filing notifies the state you have current auto insurance and that it meets the state minimum amount.

If the policy lapses, the insurance company will send the state department of motor vehicles another form called an sr26 notifying them the policy has lapsed or cancelled.

Source
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info

High Risk Car Insurance

A car insurance policy with an sr22 filing is considered a high risk car insurance policy.

An sr22 is called by different names in different states such as an sr22 bond, form or certificate.

But it is basically the same thing.

It is a document attached to your policy and filed with the state department of motor vehicles.

It provides proof a driver has at least a current state minimum car insurance policy in force.

Drivers who do not own a vehicle and need to file, need to file what is called a non-owners insurance policy.

Common reasons for needing an sr22 filing include, driving without car insurance violations, driving under the influence of alcohol or drug convictions, excessive points or an accident without car insurance.

The most common two reasons are driving without car insurance or a DUI conviction.

SR-22.info agents offer affordable car insurance for all types of drivers and coverage needs and can file an sr22 if needed.

If you need to file and want an sr22 insurance quote or just want to find cheaper car insurance, fill out our short car insurance quote form and let our agents help you find cheap coverage.

Coverage is offered in all 50 states.

Author
Licensed agent
http://sr22-insurance.info